The Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical care, was established in the month of October, 1992 and is one of the largest departments in the Institute.

The department of Anaesthesiology and Critical care has started with providing services to only four super specialties and a five bedded respiratory intensive care unit. Over the years, along with the development of medical sciences and expansion of the SVIMS, the department has grown to cater to the need of both the super specialty and broad specialty.

The department is having all the latest state - of - art equipment relating to Anaesthesia and Critical Care Medicine. Clinical work load covers administration of anaesthesia and perioperative care to six super surgical specialty and four broad surgical specialty services apart from anaesthesia support for remote location that includes radiology suite, catheterization lab and electroconvulsive therapy. The department also runs a 15 bedded state of the art respiratory intensive care unit (RICU) with round the clock service for resuscitation and ventilator management.

Academic Activity: The department runs a MCI recognised post-graduation course with nine intakes per year. The department also runs academic residency programme (Post-Doctoral fellowship) in Cardiac, Neuro anaesthesiology and critical care (2 intakes in each per year) courses. The department facilitates training of BSc Anaesthesia technician students (12 intakes per year,8 semesters). The department is actively involved in hospital Code blue team and has AHA certified BLS/ACLS instructors. The department follows an integrated approach and standard protocols for patient care, education and research. Currently the department is focussing on simulation, outcomes research, airway management and community training in basic life support skills.

The department regularly organizes “BAPU” (Balaji Anaesthesia Postgraduate Update), a National level CME programme and/or a Balaji Gold medal oration to felicitate eminent faculty from anaesthesia fraternity on 16th October every year.

Copyright © 2010 Sri Venkateswara Institute of Medical Sciences. All rights reserved.

Hosted by National Informatics Centre