Staff Equipment Research Publications CME Contributions Projects Awards Contact Us




The Department was established in the year 2003 with the blessings of former president of India Late Dr. A.P.J.Abdul Kalam and inaugurated by the then chief minister of Andhra Pradesh. Government of Andhra Pradesh sanctioned Rs 25 Lakhs for infrastructural development.

The department offers two courses namely: M. Sc Biotechnology with intake of 15 students and Ph.D in Biotechnology with intake of 6 students. Thus, far all the M. Sc students passed out from the Department are working in prestigious companies like Shanta Biotech, Bharat Biotech, Biocon, Dr.Reddy’s Laboratories, Eurofins Genomics, Sreeven pharmaceuticals, Vimta Labs etc. Many students have cleared CSIR-UGC JRF and are pursuing Ph. D in very well recognized institutes and universities like, IARI, TFIR, Thapar Institute of Technology, University of Hyderabad, IIT Delhi, NIT and BITS Hyderabad etc. Who had completed Doctor of Philosophy in this Department has been selected as Post Doctoral Fellow in U.S.A and Scientist-C positions in ICMR Laboratories.

Dr. P.V.G.K. Sarma’s Research team in front of Prof. Frederick Sanger statue in Department


Every year the M. Sc students of the Department get absorbed into Biotech Consortium India Limited and get fellowship Rs. 10,000/- and contingency grants up to Rs. 60,000/- to carry out research work in any industry. This platform makes our students to get absorbed in the Biotech industries every year. In May 2007 the department has successfully organized a Workshop on Tools of Molecular Biology where students adjoining states participated and all of them appreciated the department efforts


M. Sc., Biotechnology and Bioinformatics students


Ph.D., Biotechnology students



Copyright © 2010 Sri Venkateswara Institute of Medical Sciences. All rights reserved.

Hosted by National Informatics Centre